Board of Directors

As a non-profit organization, the Halifax Cycling Coalition is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. The HCC Board of Directors is elected by our members at our annual general meeting. Board members have two-year terms and they oversee the operation of the HCC.

2020-21 Board of Directors

Sarah Manchon (Chair)

Sarah Manchon has been a member of the board of directors of the Halifax Cycling Coalition for 3 years, and Chair of the board for 2 of these. Sarah works at the Halifax North Public Library and has a particular interest in the opportunities that cycling offers for those who face barriers of accessibility and affordability.
Alejandro Ocampo
Becky Spencer (Secretary)

Becky holds an interdisciplinary PhD from Dalhousie University, where she is a faculty member in Health Promotion. Her work is focused on exploring health and wellbeing creatively, using community and arts-based methods to understand issues relating to child and youth health, gender issues, and connecting with nature. Becky has been cycling in Halifax for a few years, enjoying everything from daily commutes to recreational bikepacking. She wants to help make Halifax a more bike-friendly city!
Camila Fisher

My name is Camila Fisher, and I recently graduated from the University of California, Riverside with a B.A. in Political Science, and returned to my hometown and favourite city: Halifax!
I’m an avid cyclist, and in university I biked to school and around campus almost daily. I bike for environmental reasons, and because it makes my body feel great! I also loved showing my friends in California that biking was a real and feasible transportation alternative – and that you don’t need a car to get around all of the time.
Talan İşcan

Talan İşcan is a Professor and Chair of the Economics Department at Dalhousie University, where he has been teaching and conducting research since 1994. He has also taught courses and gave lectures in South America, the Caribbean, the Baltic countries, and the United States. He has been an advocate for naturalized urban landscapes, and safe and convenient walking and cycling for all ages and abilities. He feels that an affordable transportation like cycling is a human right.
Sarah Riley

Sarah (or 'Riley' to those in the know), is a longtime active mobility advocate, cyclist and avid runner. She's the founder of the North End Runners in Halifax, a run crew committed to inclusivity and a better community, and the co-founder of the award-winning, female-founded-and-led brand and sustainability communications agency, R&G Strategic—where she helps organizations share their purpose and passion for a better world. She is also a Co-Founder and Founding Member of the Board at the social enterprise and community interest company, Culture Link CIC—the $13 million-dollar cultural placemaking project to transform Halifax's former World Trade and Convention Centre into a collaborative and accessible hub for creative media professionals. She's currently completing her Graduate Diploma in Social Responsibility and Sustainability at U of T and when not studying or at work, she can be found on her trusty upright commuter, or on a trail run with her dog, Vlad.
John Kyle

John has been a year-round cyclist for 20 years and thinks everyone deserves access to high-quality bicycle infrastructure. He biked 8500km across Canada in 2019, and can tell you which kinds of bike lanes work well, and which don’t. He loves a good sneckdown and can talk about them in far too much detail. His current blindspots include mountain biking, BMX riding, and the suburbs, but he hopes to use his board membership to learn more from a diverse group of cyclists.
Peter Zimmer

I’ve been cycling in Halifax since 1969, and in my late-70s I still use my bike as my primary city transportation vehicle (while also walking, using transit and Communauto Atlantic*). I have had a serious long-term interest in all sorts of mobility solutions for this city, putting in many hours as a citizen-participant in civic planning events over the past decades. I’ve previously worked with the HCC Infrastructure Committee for a couple years, and with Leading With Transit. *I was one of the founders of CarShareHFX in 2008, retiring from managing it in 2014.
Megan Rector

Megan is a former fundraising professional with eight years of experience securing resources for environmental NGOs. She has experience building membership programs as well as securing funds through grants and digital campaigns. Megan is an avid cycling commuter and trail user. She is currently a Marine Affairs PhD student at Dalhousie University.
Raylene Langor

Raylene loves to cycle the roads of Halifax. Originally from Gooseberry Cove, Newfoundland, she has called the Halifax peninsula home since 2012. Raylene currently works as Articled Clerk at McInnes Cooper, and has previous experience as a Policy Analyst for Health Canada. She is a recent graduate of the Schulich School of Law, and also holds a Master of Health Administration degree from Dalhousie University. Raylene is passionate about interprofessional collaboration, professional regulation, advocacy… and of course, bikes!”

Subscribe to our mailing lists to receive regular updates on cycling in Halifax.

Select the emails you'd like to receive:

If you’re not already, please consider becoming a member.