South Park bicycle lane fixes in jeopardy

Vancouver's Hornby planter-protected bicycle lane

The future of the South Park Street bicycle lane is in jeopardy.

Today, Halifax Regional Council will vote to approve one of three options outlined in the report by staff.

The councillors need to hear from you loud and clear before 1 PM today that you support Option 2, which includes an on-street protected bicycle lane from Sackville to Inglis, and has the potential to be the best bicycle lane in the city.

The Spring Garden Area Business Association is fighting to have council implement option 2A (moving the lane against the existing sidewalk), which will drive up the cost of the project, remove over 500 feet of mature tree canopy and have impacts on the safety of people walking by the Public Gardens. We could see the preferred Option 2 either delayed for years or taken off the table entirely simply to keep 17 out of over 1000 parking spots in the immediate area.

We can’t let this opportunity to build a safe bike lane get away from us. If you have not done so already, please email your councillor or better yet, call them directly to ask them to support Option 2. If you live on the peninsula or downtown Dartmouth, please email clerks@halifax.ca instead – suburban councillors need to hear your story of how this will make a difference in your life.

A beautiful protected bicycle lane like the one many councillors oppose

A beautiful protected bicycle lane like the one many councillors oppose

COUNCILLOR CONTACT INFORMATION:

Not sure which district you are in? Look it up on the city’s website.

District Councillor

 

Phone  Emai
1 – Waverley-Fall River-Musquodoboit Valley Steve Streatch  902-579-6738 streats@halifax.ca 
 2 – Preston-Chezzetcook -Eastern Shore David Hendsbee 902-483-0705  david.hendsbee@halifax.ca 
3- Dartmouth South-Eastern Passage

 

Bill Karsten  902-476-1855 bill.karsten@halifax.ca 
4 – Cole Harbour-Westphal

 

Lorelei Nicoll  902-478-2705 lorelei.nicoll@halifax.ca
5 – Dartmouth Centre

 

Sam Austin 902-579-6814 austins@halifax.ca 
6 – Harbourview-Burnside-Dartmouth East Tony Mancini  902-292-4823  mancint@halifax.ca 
7- Peninsula South-Downtown

 

Waye Mason 902-430-7822  waye.mason@halifax.ca 
8 – Peninsula North

 

Lindell Smith 902-579-6975  smithli@halifax.ca 
9 – Armdale- Peninsula West

 

Shawn Cleary 902-579-6746  clearys@halifax.ca 
10- Halifax-Bedford Basin West

 

Russell Walker  902-497-7215  russell.walker@halifax.ca 
11 – Spryfield-Sambro Loop-Prospect Road

 

Steve Adams  902-497-8818  stephen.adams@halifax.ca 
12 – Timberlea-Beechville-Clayton Park West Richard Zurawski  902-579-7453  zurawsr@halifax.ca 
13- Hammonds Plains-St. Margaret’s Matt Whitman  902-240-3330  matt.whitman@halifax.ca 
14 – Middle & Upper Sackville- Lucasville

 

Lisa Blackburn  902-579-7164  blackbl@halifax.ca 
15- Lower Sackville

 

Steve Craig 902-240-0441  steve.craig@halifax.ca 
16 – Bedford- Wentworth Tim Outhit 902-229-6385  tim.outhit@halifax.ca